Random Fridge Ingredients Meal Challenges

I went through this phase in my life where I avoided the grocery store like it was an overly affectionate co-worker. Okay, you got me. I’m STILL in that phase, and will likely never make it out. So when you’re in a phase where purchasing necessary food and health items is the one thing you probably didn’t do this week, you learn to live with the consequences like, you know, running out of food that actually goes together. And yes, I could just go to the store and get the other things to make a chicken pot pie. Or, I could play my favorite game: Make a Meal from The Random Things You Pull Out of the Fridge! Bonus points if you fit in all the food groups! I want to be clear here: the purpose of this game is not to gross yourself out or make yourself sick. I mean, come on. You’re in your thirties, not third grade! And you know what? I’ve made some pretty amazing meals this way. In fact, one of these meals is an often requested meal from my friends. I don’t have to heart to tell them its origin story, mainly because they always do their grocery shopping on time, and my double life as a lazy woman-child is still completely unknown to them. I’ll bet they don’t even know that I wear pajamas from the moment I leave work on Friday until I jump in the shower Monday morning. You won’t tell them, will you?

Leave a Reply

